Questions and Questionnaires Working Group

Purpose: The Questionnaire Working Group's main objective is to provide guidelines for building and managing questions and questionnaires using different DDI products and related standards. The group will also work with other expert groups to help identify needs for new material (e.g. training material) or evolution of the standards.

Next meeting

9th of July, 3PM to 4PM CEST.

Members

Name

Role

Organization

Country

Email

Name

Role

Organization

Country

Email

Hayley Mills

Metadata Manager

CLOSER

UK

h.mills@ucl.ac.uk

Romain Tailhurat  

Product manager

INSEE

France

romain.tailhurat@insee.fr

Jon Johnson

Technical lead

CLOSER 

UK

 

jon.johnson@ucl.ac.uk

Wendy Thomas

Technical Committee Chair

DDI 

USA

 

wlt@umn.edu

Ami Katherine Saji

Research engineer

PROGEDO

France

ami-katherine.saji@cnrs.fr

Lucie Marie

Responsible for deploying the data catalog

Sciences Po Centre de Données Socio-Politiques

France

lucie.marie2@sciencespo.fr

Lucas Bourcier

Research engineer

French Institute for Demographic Studies (INED)

France

lucas.bourcier@ined.fr

Thibaud Ritzenthaler

Research engineer

French Institute for Demographic Studies (INED)

France

thibaud.ritzenthaler@ined.fr

Håkan Wilén 

Methodologist 

Data Department Statistics 

Sweden

hakan.wilen@scb.se

Kathryn Lavender

Data Project Manager

NACDA

USA

kfrania@umich.edu

Ryan Holmes

Survey Officer

Understanding Society 

UK

ryan.holmes@essex.ac.uk

John Hyland

Data Value Platform Manager 

Teagasc

Ireland

john.hyland@teagasc.ie

Catherine Yuen

Survey Applications Manager 

Understanding Society 

UK

catherine.yuen@essex.ac.uk

Thomas Dubois

Manager of the Statistical Metadata Team (Pogues, a Questionnaire Design Tool)

INSEE

France

thomas.dubois@insee.fr

Victoria Rolfe

Senior Lecturer

University of Gothenburg

Sweden

victoria.rolfe@gu.se

Jessica Hrudey

Senior Research Data Steward

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Holland

e.j.hrudey@vu.nl

Firoozeh Dokhani

NA

NA

UK

fdokhani5@gmail.com

Oliver Hopt

Technical support of questionnaire development 

GESIS

Germany

oliver.hopt@gesis.org

Edward Mawejje 

District Program Officer, Public Health Specialist 

Makerere University Joint AIDS Program

Uganda

mawejjeedward@gmail.com

Alen Vodopijevec

Head of IT

CESSDA

Croatia

alen.vodopijevec@cessda.eu

Becky Oldroyd

Metadata Officer

CLOSER

UK

r.oldroyd@ucl.ac.uk

Ken Moore

Senior Statistician

Central Statistics Office

Ireland

ken.moore@cso.ie

Susana Portilo 

Statistician

Central Statistics Office

Ireland

susana.portillo@cso.ie

Halima Bakia

Data manager

CASD

France

Halima.BAKIA@casd.eu

Rebecca Morrison

Director, Behavioral Science Research Center

BLS

USA

morrison.rebecca@bls.gov

Philippe Bisson

???

StatCan

Canada

philippe.bisson@statcan.gc.ca

 

Original group application

  1. Topic of interest

Questions, measurements and questionnaires

  1. Mission statement/description for the DDI Website)

The Questionnaire Working Group's main objective is to provide guidelines for building and managing questions and questionnaires using different DDI products and related standards. The group will also work with the other DDI Working Groups and other experts to help identify needs for new materials (e.g. training material) and evolution of the standards.

  1. Name of (initial) group chair

Hayley Mills and Romain Tailhurat

  1. Name of initial set of group members

DDI Questions/Questionnaires Working Group - potential members

  1. Start plan

A first official meeting is planned for June that will focus on organisation and practical matters, but also on the structure of the guidelines - building the guidelines likely being our first priority for the next months.

  1. Expected longevity of the group

The group intends to be a long-running initiative to help address issues and guidance on the topic of questions and questionnaires. In addition, it will be a visible point of  contact for the community for information or advice on questionnaires. The group may at some point evolve to a data collection working group (i.e. not only questionnaire-based but also administrative data collection, etc.).

  1. Relationship to other WGs

We have initially identified potential collaboration with the Training Working Group, Technical Committee,the DDI Developers Community and the Paradata Working Group. More collaboration will likely arise over time.