Training Working Group


Role and Purpose of Group

The purpose of the Training Group is to:

  • Ensure that our goals align and build on the DDI Alliance Scientific Work Plan.
  • Introduce people to DDI and improve people's competence in working with DDI.
  • Promote deeper understanding of DDI’s work products by addressing specific topics.
  • Gear training to specific audiences as appropriate (for example, by beginning to set up training materials and events in languages other than English).
  • Develop expertise within the Working Group for carrying out training.
  • Maintain a training library with updated training material in languages other than English for reuse

See Mandate



Zenodo

Official DDI Training Materials - These DDI training materials are approved products of the DDI Alliance. Intended for re-use.

DDI Training Community - Applied training. Anyone may submit their DDI training materials to this community. 


Group Members

Group email:

ddi-training@icpsr.umich.edu

https://groups.google.com/g/icpsr-ddi-training

NameE-Mail
Alina Danciu (Chair)alina.danciu@sciencespo.fr
Hayley Mills (Chair)h.mills@ucl.ac.uk
Adrian Dusadusa.adrian@unibuc.ro
Daniel Gillman

gillman.daniel@bls.gov

Arofan Gregoryilg21@yahoo.com
Kaia Kulla

kaia.kulla@stat.ee

Kathryn Lavenderkfrania@umich.edu
Jared Lylelyle@umich.edu
Lucie Marielucie.marie2@sciencespo.fr
Laura Molloy

laura@codata.org

Hilde Orten

hilde.orten@sikt.no

Christophe Dzikowskichristophe.dzikowski@insee.fr

Flavio Rizzolo (Scientific Board contact)

 

flavio.rizzolo@statcan.gc.ca
Geneviève Michaud genevieve.michaud@sciencespo.fr
Catharina Wasnercatharina.wasner@giga-hamburg.de
Jennifer Zeigerzeiger@umich.edu
Meetings

Meeting Notes for current and previous years

Meeting Time and Connection Information

The Training Group meets every first Tuesday of the month at 9 am (EST) / 2 pm (UTC) / 3 pm (CET) / 4 pm (CAT/EET) using Zoom.

To join the meeting online use this link: https://sciencespo.zoom.us/j/98016141400

Use your microphone and speakers (VoIP) - a headset is recommended. Please set yourself on mute when you are not speaking to prevent background noises.


Ongoing actions

Actions which are not specific to each sub-group activities listed below

  • All to think of any ways to improve the monthly meetings
  • Alina DANCIU Since the DDI zoom link is now working for HM/AD it might be preferable going forward to use this link consistently to remove confusion for group members. AD to update the invites to this link instead of the sciencespo meeting link.
  • Hilde Orten will make RDA slides available to the Zenodo community group. 

  • Arofan to confirm speakers for EDDI22 training event
  • Hayley Mills to draft info about the EDDI22 training event
  • Jared Lyle to ask ICPSR marketing to use to promote EDDI22 training event
  • Hayley MillsAlina DANCIULaura to send emails to lists about the EDDI22 training event
  • Hilde Orten will pick up the getting started pages in the next sub-wg meeting and who will lead this. 
  • Hayley Mills and Alina DANCIU to use mandate to advertise what we do and recruit new members.
  • @Laura to check if there are any FAIR events we should attend In addition to those which are listed (conferences)
  • Hilde Orten to share a spreadsheet of the number of training requests received and their outcome
  • Alina DANCIU to provide details about the translation volunteers and their slide deck priorities. - Alina would like input from the slide review group Kathryn Lavender
  • Flavio Rizzolo will get back to us with more details about the SB’s (and TCs) role in the signing off of the slide decks.
  • Hilde Orten to contact and set up a meeting to understand what CODATA RDA schools do/teach and what they would be interested in.
  • Kathryn Lavender to add translation priorities to the slide review group's next meeting
  • Arofan to provide a plan for the next set of webinars for 2022/2023.